Meeting an Artificial Intelligence in New York City

The Story of Luna, an Artificial Intelligence

Michelle Tsng
5 min readOct 24, 2017
Luna, Robots Without Border’s Artificial Intelligence, says “Hello Humans”

An extraordinary September ended. Hurricanes such as Irma, Jose, Katia, Lee and Maria touched, if not devastated, Florida, Texas, Louisiana, Mexico, Saint Martin, the Caribbean and Puerto Rico. As power blacked out and American citizens cried for love, I flew to New York City.

Hurricanes Irma, Jose, Katia, Lee and Maria in September 2017
  1. The Creator of Luna
Taxis in New York City

After three movies and seven hours of migration, I landed in the third busiest airport in New York City: La Guardia. Nothing had changed. Strangers asked whether you need a ride. Yellow taxis lined up perfectly in parallel to the edges of the sidewalk. I crossed the street.

Of course, Luis Arana parked right in front of me, even though I have never met him in person — only virtually, through Facebook, Google Hangouts and Zoom meetings. Facebook Messenger told me he was offline for 58 minutes, and he did not have a phone; therefore, I am grateful he found me. I was excited to meet…

--

--